Ingredients and substitutes for a healthy gluten free meal.

There are many food-items that have gluten-free alternatives and are widely available in most grocery stores. Remember, fresh foods that are minimally processed are a crucial part of a healthy gluten-free diet. While on a gluten-free diet, it is very important that you base your diet around fruits, and vegetables. Be wary of the fact that wheat-free does not necessarily mean gluten-free. as it may contain some other ingredient that is high on gluten content.

Here are a few substitutes that you can incorporate in your daily meal to make a healthy glute free meal.

Traditionally, wheat products such as pastas, breads, crackers, and other baked goods contain gluten. However, you can always buy substitutes that are a gluten-free version of the same products. Some of the examples include brown rice, multigrain bread that is gluten-free. You can always trade your traditional rice noodles or pastas with quinoa pasta.

Grains such as soy, quinoa, millet, buckwheat groats, flex, chia and nuts can also be used creatively to make healthy gluten free meals. If you are habituated of having cereals for breakfast in the morning, then there are cereals sold in stores that are gluten free. Watch out for cornflakes, puffed rice cereals as they may contain malt and flavoring extracts that contain gluten. Substitute regular milk with soy milk while you are having gluten-free cereals as soy milk is gluten free.

Oats are normally processed and harvested in the same equipment as wheat, hence they can get easily contaminated and can be more harmful if the person is suffering from celiac disease. Look for gluten-free label when buying products made from oats, including granola and granola bars.

Wheat is normally used as thickener in soups and sauces. Thus, look for canned soups that does not contain this but some other gluten free ingredient used as a thickener. Also look out for soups and sauces that are creamed as creamed soups and sauces are also loaded with gluten.

Stores nowadays sell processed fruits and vegetables that help increase their longevity so that you can store them for a longer period. Avoid them as they too contain gluten. Rely on fresh frozen fruits and vegetables as they are gluten free. Even when having smoothies, Make sure they are made out of fresh fruits.

If you enjoy hard liquors refrain from beer, lager and malt beverages as they contain gluten. You can still enjoy other hard drinks such as Wines, hard ciders are gluten free.